Vertigo Editors Nomination Information

Nominations close 2pm Monday 21 September 2015


The election is governed by the UTS Students’ Association Constitution as amended and the Election Regulation as amended. Copies are available at the Students’ Association Office at Broadway.


This document contains summary information taken from the principal documents and should be read very CAREFULLY.


  1. The Vertigo Editorial Team


  • The production and content of Vertigo is the sole responsibility of an editorial team annually elected by the student body.


  1. Eligibility


§  Any person who is a registered student at UTS is eligible to stand for election, to nominate candidates and to vote.

§  The Vertigo Editorial Team is a group position. That is persons standing for this position must stand in groups of not less than two.

§  Students cannot stand for a position they are not eligible to vote for.


3. How to nominate



Each member of the nominating team must nominate in writing as an individual on the Nomination Form signed by three (3) students eligible to vote and countersigned by the candidate indicating her/his willingness to accept the nomination.


All members of the team must then signify their willingness to run as a team on the ballot paper by completing the List Grouping Form and submitting it together with the signed nomination forms of team members prior to the close of nominations 2pm Monday 21 September 2015


Any person nominated as a list agent should be aware that it is their responsibility to pass on to the candidates on their list any information given to them by the Returning Officer.


Teams may run under a common name and policy statement. It is important that the team policy statement accompany the group list.


 4. Policy Statements

Teams may submit a policy statement of not more than 200 words and a photograph to appear in the election edition of Vertigo (this is not compulsory but advised). Photos must have the candidates name on the back. If the photo is larger than the candidate wishes to be published they should mask out the area they do not wish to appear. Candidates for Vertigo Editors should produce their policy statement and photograph on Email or disc suitable for insertion in Vertigo but the nomination must also be accompanied by a typed copy and a photograph.


Policy Statements must not be in breach of electoral Regulation 17.1.7 which states that all members, and associates of the Students’ Association are prohibited from:


            Making any misleading statement in oral or written form


5. Submitting Nominations

Nomination forms, policy statements, photographs and ticket nomination forms may be mailed to reach the Returning Officer’s postal address no later than 2pm Monday 21 September 2015 or alternatively, may be received at the Association Office at Broadway prior to 2pm  Monday 21 September 2015


Please attempt to submit all nomination material together – if you are unable to do this please ensure that each subsequent submission is clearly marked as to its origin.


NOMINATIONS CLOSE AT 2PM ON Monday 21 SEPTEMBER 2015. Nominations, List Grouping Forms, or policy statements and photos received after this time will not be accepted under any circumstances.


6. Draw of Positions on the Ballot Paper.

This will take place at 4 PM Monday 21 September at the Association Office Broadway. List Agents should be present or represented at the draw. Candidates may also be present.


7. Candidates Meeting

A candidates meeting will be held at the Students’ Association Office, Broadway following the draw for positions on the Ballot Paper 21 September 2015 Further information about the running of the election and campaigning will be distributed to candidates at this time. If you are unable to attend please contact the Returning Officer so that you may receive any relevant material.


9. Behaviour During the Election

Aggressive, offensive, racist, sexist or intimidatory behaviour or material from candidates or their supporters will not be tolerated.


10. Further Information

Any questions you may have can be directed to the Returning Officer on Tel: 95141155 Mobile 0409 602 962


Christine Kibble

Returning Officer

1 September 2014


Postal Address:           The Returning Officer

UTS Students’ Association

PO Box 123

Broadway   NSW  2007